校纪

如果我被停职、开除或非自愿调动,我是否享有权利?

是的。根据加州宪法,学生有权接受教育1 。 这意味着您的学校不能在不给您正当程序的情况下剥夺您的教育,或者换句话说,遵守保护您权利的规则。

请注意,本讲义涵盖普通教育学科。 如果您是特殊教育学生,即您拥有个性化教育计划 (IEP) 或 504 计划,您将拥有更多的合法权利。

暂停

什么是暂停?

停学是学校纪律的一种形式,它会暂时将您从班级或学校中移除。 您的学校可能会将您带出校园、教室,或将您安置在与其他学生分开的有监督(“校内”)停课教室中。

我的学校可以让我停课吗?

不。 您的学校只能因《加州教育法》中明确列出的行为以及您在学校的行为或与学校活动相关的行为而将您停学。 这包括在学校、在学校赞助的活动中以及在上下学途中的行为。

学校不能因为你缺课或迟到而让你停课。 学校也不能以“故意违抗”为由将四年级以下的学生(在校或校外)停学。 故意违抗通常被定义为扰乱学校活动或以其他方式故意违抗学校工作人员的权威。  例如,这可能包括学生拒绝在课堂上摘帽。

在我停课之前,我的学校是否必须遵守规则?

是的。 你的学校必须首先尝试其他方法来改变你的行为。  学校可能使用的其他方式包括学生或家长会议、推荐给辅导员、心理学家或愤怒管理计划、创建学习或指导团队,或推荐进行综合评估2. 除非您的行为是暴力或危险的,否则您的学校可能只会在其他方法不起作用的情况下暂停您的学业。

在暂停过程中我有权利吗?

是的。 除非有紧急情况,否则您有权与学校或学区工作人员举行非正式的停学前会议。 在此过程中,您还有其他权利,包括在您被停职之前在会议上讲述您的情况并在会议上提供证据的权利。

在最终决定暂停后,我还有其他权利吗?

是的。 您的学校必须将其决定的书面通知发送给您的父母或监护人。 您的学校不能让您连续停课超过 5 天,或一个学年的总上学天数不能超过 20 天。 您可能有权对学校的最终决定提出上诉,这意味着其他人可以审查最终决定是否正确。

开除

什么是开除?

开除是指您的学区将您排除在您所在地区的传统学校之外。

我的学校可以开除我吗?

不。您的学校只能因您在校园或与学校相关的活动中的行为而开除您。 您不能因“故意违抗”或出于自卫而造成严重的身体伤害而被开除3

您的学校必须仅因以下“零容忍”行为而开除您: (1) 拥有或出售枪支; (二)持刀威胁他人的; (3) 销售受管制物质; (4) 企图或实施性侵犯; (五)持有炸药; (六)造成严重人身伤害的。 如果您因其中一项罪行被开除,您仍可能被置于“暂停开除”状态。 这将暂停驱逐,但如果您犯下另一项可驱逐的罪行,您可以在没有听证会的情况下被驱逐。

您的学校可能会因您的其他行为而开除您,但仅限于教育法规4中明确列出的行为。您的学校必须首先尝试其他方式来改变您的行为。 学校可能使用的其他方式包括学生或家长会议、推荐给辅导员、心理学家或愤怒管理计划、创建学习或指导团队,或推荐进行综合评估5

在等待开除听证会期间,我是否有权上学?

是的。 在您的听证会之前,您的学区必须继续为您提供教育计划。 但是,如果您被建议开除,并且您的学校认为您会在学校造成危险或扰乱正常的上课时间,您的学校可能会将您的停学时间延长至您的听证会。 如果您的学校延长停学时间,您有权召开另一次会议(通常称为“延长停学时间”或“正当程序”会议)。 在开除听证会之前,您的学校可以让您停课,但您仍应要求将您的家庭作业寄回家。

学校通常会给学生一份“规定的开除”协议。 规定的开除协议通常是一份书面文件,其中家长放弃学生的听证权并简单地同意将学生开除。  通过签署本协议,学生承认他们违反了学校守则,并将被开除。 此类协议通常不符合您的最佳利益,应仔细查看 – 如果可以,请在签署该协议之前咨询律师。

在开除我之前,我的学校是否必须遵守规则?

是的。您有权在提议开除后的 30 个教学日内举行开除听证会,但如果您愿意,您也有权至少推迟一次听证会,只要您以书面形式提出请求6 。 您的学区将在您的听证会后做出最终开除决定。

您的学区还必须在听证会前至少十天向您提供开除听证会日期的书面通知7 。 该通知应列出听证会的日期和地点、开除转介的事实和理由、您的权利以及学区针对涉嫌犯罪的纪律规则的副本。

您有权在开除听证会之前索取您的所有学生记录并检查学区计划向您出示的任何证据,包括证人名单或书面陈述。 尽快向您所在的学区索取这些文件,以便您有足够的时间来审查它们。

在开除过程期间和之后,我是否还有其他权利?

是的。 在驱逐听证会期间,您拥有许多权利,包括:

  1. 亲自出席您的听证会的权利;
  2. 聘请律师或其他非法律辩护人帮助讲述您的故事的权利;
  3. 有权质问学区带来的任何证人;
  4. 提出自己的口头或书面证据和证人的权利;和
  5. 中立小组成员(不在您的学校工作的人)的权利。

开除听证会后,您有权获得区教育委员会的书面最终决定。

如果你没有被开除,那么你就赢了,并且几乎总是有权返回你的学校。 学区不能对不驱逐的决定提出上诉,这意味着他们不能因同一事件再次驱逐您。

如果您被开除,您有权上诉,这意味着对决定进行审查。 请咨询您当地的县教育委员会,了解上诉程序和截止日期(通常为 30 天)。 您被开除的时间不应超过一年,并且在被开除后可能能够返回您的学校。

非自愿转移

什么是非自愿转让?

非自愿转学是指学区违背学生或其父母或监护人的意愿将学生转至其他学校。 学校在转学方面有很大的自由裁量权,但他们的自由裁量权存在重要限制。

什么是替代学校?

替代学校包括县社区学校、社区日间学校和继续学校。 这些学校可能对某些学生有益,但它们通常不会提供与传统学校相同的教育或课外机会。

如果我非自愿转入县社区学校,我是否有权利? 

是的。 如果您被开除、被学校出勤审查委员会 (SARB) 转介或根据法院命令转介,您可能会被非自愿地转到县社区学校。

您不能仅仅因为您是无家可归者或寄养青年而被转到县社区学校。 如果学校不能满足您的教育需求、您有安全顾虑或学校离学生家太远,您有权反对您转入县社区学校。 您的学区也可能不会将您转到没有空间供您使用的县社区学校。

如果您根据 SARB 推荐转入县社区学校,您有权在转学期结束时返回原学校或其他传统学校8

如果我被非自愿转入社区日间学校,我是否有权利? 

是的。 只有在您被开除、试用期、被学校出勤审查委员会 (SARB) 推荐或通过区级推荐程序推荐的情况下,区才可以非自愿地将您转入社区日间学校。 您不能就转学到社区走读学校提出上诉,但您可以对导致转学的开除提出上诉。 请咨询您当地的县教育委员会,了解程序和截止日期。

如果我非自愿转入继续学校,我是否有权利? 

是的。只有在您违反教育法、习惯性旷课或在您要求的课程中出勤率不正常的情况下,学区才可能非自愿地将您转入继续学校9 。 您所在学区只能在行为发生的那个学期或之后的一个学期将您转入继续学校。

除非其他改变您行为的尝试失败或您在学校的存在对他人造成危险或扰乱典型的上学日,否则您所在学区可能不会将您转入继续学校。

在最终决定非自愿将我转到继续学校之前和之后,我是否可以主张权利? 

是的。在您非自愿转入继续学校之前,您有权要求与学区主管的代表会面。 你有权用证据、辩护人和证人来陈述你的观点。 您学校的任何人都不能参与转学的最终决定。 您有权获得关于您所在学区最终决定的书面通知。 经您所在学区的学监同意,您有权在下一年重返传统高中。

有关学校纪律的更多信息的资源

笔记:

  1. 加州宪法,第 IX 条,第 15节。
  2. 请参阅《加州教育法典》第 48900.5、48900.6
  3. 加州教育法典第 48915(a) 节
  4. 请参阅加州教育法典第48900、48900.2、48900.3、48900.4、48900.748915部分
  5. 请参阅《加州教育法典》第 48900.5、48900.6
  6. 加州教育法典第 48918 节
  7. 加州教育法典第 48918 节。 
  8. 加州教育法典第 1981 (b)(4) 节
  9. 加州教育法第 48432.5 节

School Discipline

Do I have rights if I am suspended, expelled, or placed on an involuntary transfer?

YES. Under the California Constitution students have the right to an education1. That means that your school cannot take your education away from you without giving you due process, or in other words, following rules that protect your rights.

Please note this handout only covers general education discipline. If you are a special education student, meaning you have an individualized education plan (IEP) or 504 Plan, you have even more legal rights.

SUSPENSIONS

What is a suspension?

SUSPENSION is a form of school discipline which temporarily removes you from a class or from school. Your school may remove you from school grounds, a classroom, or place you in a supervised (“in-school”) suspension classroom separate from other students.

Can my school suspend me for anything?

NO. Your school can only suspend you for behavior explicitly listed in the California Education Code and only for your behavior at school or related to a school activity. This includes behavior at school, during school-sponsored activities, and on your way to and from school.

A school cannot suspend you for school absences or tardiness. A school also cannot suspend students below the fourth grade (in-school or out-of-school) for “willful defiance.” Willful defiance is generally defined as disrupting school activities or otherwise willfully defying the authority of school staff.  This can include for example a student refusing to take off a hat in class.

Are there rules my school has to follow before it suspends me?

YES. Your school must first try other ways to change your behavior.  Examples of other ways a school might use are student or parent conferences, referrals to counselors, psychologists, or anger management programs, creating study or guidance teams, or making a referral for a comprehensive assessment2.Your school may only suspend you if those other ways don’t work, unless your behavior is violent or dangerous.

Do I have rights during the suspension process?

YES. You have the right to an informal pre-suspension conference with school or district staff, unless there is an emergency situation. You also have other rights during the process, including the right to tell your side of the story and present evidence in the conference before you are suspended.

Do I have other rights after a final decision of suspension?

YES. Your school must send a written notice of its decision to your parents or guardians. Your school cannot suspend you for more than five days in a row or for more than 20 total school days in one school year. You may have the right to appeal your school’s final decision, meaning someone else can review the final decision to see if it’s correct.

EXPULSIONS

What is an expulsion?

EXPULSION is when your school district excludes you from attending traditional schools in your district.

Can my school expel me for anything?

NO. Your school can only expel you for behavior on school grounds or at a school-related activity. You cannot be expelled for “willful defiance,” or for causing serious physical injury out of self-defense3.

Your school MUST expel you only for the following “zero tolerance” behaviors: (1) possessing or selling firearms; (2) threatening another person with a knife; (3) selling a controlled substance; (4) attempting or committing a sexual assault; (5) possessing an explosive; or (6) inflicting serious bodily injury. If you are expelled for one of these offenses, you may still be placed on a “suspended expulsion.” This puts the expulsion on hold, but if you commit another expellable offense, you can be expelled without a hearing.

Your school MAY expel you for other behavior, but only those explicitly listed in the Education Code4.Your school must first try other ways to change your behavior. Examples of other ways a school might use are student or parent conferences, referrals to counselors, psychologists, or anger management programs, creating study or guidance teams, or making a referral for a comprehensive assessment5.

Do I have the right to attend school while I am waiting for my expulsion hearing?

YES. Prior to your hearing, your district must continue to offer you an educational program. However, if you have been recommended for expulsion and your school believes you would cause a danger in school or disrupt the typical school day, your school may extend your suspension until your hearing. If your school extends your suspension, you have a right to another meeting (usually called an “extension of suspension” or “due process” meeting). Your school can suspend you until your expulsion hearing, but you should still request that your homework be sent home.

Often schools give students a “stipulated expulsion” agreement. A stipulated expulsion agreement is usually a written document where the parent waives the student’s right to a hearing and simply agrees to have the student expelled.  By signing this agreement, a student is admitting that they violated the school code and will have an expulsion on their record. Such agreements are generally NOT in your best interest and should be looked at very carefully—consult with an attorney if you can before signing that agreement.

Are there rules my school has to follow before it expels me?

YES. You have the right to an expulsion hearing within 30 school days of the proposed expulsion, but you also have the right to postpone your hearing at least once if you want to, as long as you request that in writing6. Your school district will make its final expulsion decision after your hearing.

Your school district must also provide you written notice of your expulsion hearing date at least ten days before your hearing7. This notice should list the date and location of the hearing, the facts and grounds for the expulsion referral, your rights, and a copy of the district’s disciplinary rules for the alleged offense.

You have the right to request all of your student records and inspect any evidence the district plans to present against you before your expulsion hearing, including witness lists or written statements. Ask your district for these documents as soon as you can so that you have plenty of time to review them.

Do I have other rights during and after the expulsion process?

YES. You have many rights during your expulsion hearing, including:

  1. The right to appear in person at your hearing;
  2. The right to bring an attorney or other nonlegal advocate to help tell your side of the story;
  3. The right to confront and question any witnesses the school district brings;
  4. The right to present your own oral or written evidence and witnesses; and
  5. The right to neutral panelists (people who don’t work at your school site).

After an expulsion hearing, you have the right to a written final decision by the district board of education.

If you are not expelled then you won and almost always have the right to return to your school. The district cannot appeal a decision not to expel, meaning they cannot expel you again for the same incident.

If you are expelled, you have the right to appeal, which means to have the decision reviewed. Check with your local county board of education about appeal procedures and deadlines (usually 30 days). You should not be expelled for more than one year and may be able to return to your school after expulsion.

INVOLUNTARY TRANSFERS

What is an involuntary transfer?

An INVOLUNTARY TRANSFER is when a school district transfers a student to an alternative school against the wishes of the student or their parent or guardian. Schools have a lot of discretion in transfers, but there are important limits on their discretion.

What are alternative schools?

ALTERNATIVE SCHOOLS include county community schools, community day schools, and continuation schools. These schools may be beneficial for some students, but they generally do not provide the same educational or extra-curricular opportunities as traditional schools.

Do I have rights if I am involuntarily transferred to a county community school? 

YES. You may be involuntarily transferred to a county community school if you are expelled, referred by a School Attendance Review Board (SARB), or referred under court order.

You cannot be transferred to a county community school solely because you are a homeless or foster youth. You have the right to object to your transfer to a county community school if the school cannot meet your educational needs, you have safety concerns, or if the school is too far from the student’s home. Your school district also may not transfer you to a county community school that does not have space for you.

If you are transferred to a county community school based on a SARB referral, you have the right to return to your original school or another traditional school at the end of the transfer period8.

Do I have rights if I am involuntarily transferred to a community day school? 

YES. A district may only involuntarily transfer you to a community day school if you are expelled, on probation, referred by a School Attendance Review Board (SARB), or referred through a district level referral process. You cannot appeal a transfer to a community day school, but you can appeal an expulsion that led to your transfer. Check with your local county board of education for procedures and deadlines.

Do I have rights if I am involuntarily transferred to a continuation school? 

YES. A district may only involuntarily transfer you to a continuation school if you committed a violation of the Education Code, have been habitually truant or have had irregular attendance in your required classes9. Your district may only transfer you to a continuation school in the semester when the act occurred or the semester after.

Your district may not transfer you to a continuation school unless other attempts to change your behavior fail or your presence at school causes a danger to others or disrupts the typical school day.

Are there rights I can assert before and after a final decision to involuntarily transfer me to a continuation school? 

YES. You have the right to request a meeting with a representative of the school district superintendent before your involuntary transfer to a continuation school. You have the right to present your side of the story with evidence, advocates, and witnesses. No one from your school can be involved in the final decision to transfer. You have the right to a written notice of your district’s final decision. You have the right to return to a traditional high school the following year with consent of your district’s superintendent.

RESOURCES FOR MORE INFORMATION ON SCHOOL DISCIPLINE

Notes:

  1. California Constitution, Article IX, sections 1, 5.
  2. See California Education Code sections 48900.5, 48900.6.
  3. California Education Code section 48915(a).
  4. See California Education Code sections 48900, 48900.2, 48900.3, 48900.4, 48900.7, and 48915.
  5. See California Education Code sections 48900.5, 48900.6.
  6. California Education Code section 48918.
  7. California Education Code section 48918
  8. California Education Code section 1981 (b)(4).
  9. California Education Code section 48432.5.